E-911 Reauthorization and House Bill 152

Senate Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness Committee
E-911 Reauthorization and House Bill 152

February 18, 2015
9:00 a.m.
North Office Building, Hearing Room #1



I.  Call to Order by Chairman Vulakovich

II. Pledge of Allegiance

III.  Consideration of Legislation

*HB 152 (Tallman) (Law Enforcement Officer Death Benefit:  Extension of Application Period) – Bill Summary

Amendment 00126 (Addition of Campus Police Officers) – Amendment Summary

IV.  Hearing on E-911 – The True Costs of 911

*Richard Flinn, Director, PA Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) – Part 1 | Part 2

*Doug Hill, Executive Director, County Commissioners Association of PA

*County Panel #1

Scott Krater, 911 Director, Schuylkill County, PA. President, PA APCO

Brian Melcer, Director, Lawrence County Department of Public Safety. President, PA NENA, WestCore Representative

Michael McGrady, Chairman, joint PA APCO/PA NENA Government Affairs Committee

Mike McAllister, Director, Elk County Officer of Emergency Services, Chairman Northern Tier Committee

Brian Melcer will read the joint PA APCO/PA NENA testimony that was drafted for the two state-wide 911 associations.

Gary Thomas, Asst. Chief/ 911 Coordinator Allegheny County Department of Emergency Services. Secretary, PA NENA

*County Panel #2

David Cohick, Director, Tioga County Emergency Services

Raymond J. Hayling, II, Deputy CIO, Chief Telecommunications Officer & Chief Public Safety Communications Officer & Director of 911 Administration, City of Philadelphia

Alvin Henderson, Jr., Chief, Allegheny County Emergency Services – Part 1 | Part 2

Bud Mertz, 911 Director, Westmoreland County

*Phil Durgin, Executive Director & Elizabeth Voras, Project Manager, Legislative Budget & Finance Committee (LBFC) – Part 1 | Part 2

IV.  Adjournment