Senate Republicans Elect Leadership Team for New Session

(HARRISBURG) — Senate Republicans today elected their leadership team for the 2015-2016 legislative session.

Senator Joe Scarnati (R-25) has been nominated again to serve as President Pro Tempore. The full Senate will vote on Scarnati’s nomination when it reconvenes in January.  As President Pro Tempore, he will be responsible for appointing the chairpersons and members of the standing committees of the Senate.  He will also play a significant role in legislative negotiations with the Administration and House of Representatives.  A native of Brockway in Jefferson County, Scarnati was elected to the Pennsylvania State Senate in 2000.  A graduate of the Pennsylvania State University at DuBois, the Senator is a third-generation small business owner and served in local government.

Senator Jake Corman (R-34) will serve as Senate Majority Leader.  His duties include overseeing the legislative agenda, developing policies and strategies for the Senate Republican Caucus, chairing the Senate Rules and Executive Nominations Committee and playing a key role in floor debates.  He will also have a major role in negotiating issues with the Administration and House of Representatives and in supervising action on the Senate floor.  Corman previously served as chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Senator Pat Browne (R-16) will be the new chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, one of the most influential of the standing committees.  The committee reviews all legislation for its fiscal impact and plays a crucial role in developing the state budget.   Browne is an attorney, a CPA and a member of the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Senator John Gordner (R-27) has been elected Majority Whip.  His duties include acting as assistant floor leader, working to gain support for legislation and ensuring that Republican policies and strategies are maintained through the cooperative efforts of the majority caucus.

Senator Bob Mensch (R-24) will serve as Majority Caucus Chairman for the 2015-2016 legislative session.  As chairman he will preside over Republican caucus meetings to discuss bills and amendments and to develop caucus strategy.

As the Senate Majority Caucus Secretary, Senator Richard Alloway (R-33) will oversee all executive nominations submitted to the Senate for confirmation.  He will coordinate the review of the background and experience of nominees and ensure that proper documentation is submitted.

Voters across Pennsylvania strengthened the Republican majority in the state Senate on Election Day, returning all incumbent Republicans up for re-election and electing three additional Republicans to the chamber.  Senate Republicans hold a 30-20 majority in the State Senate.  The new members of the Republican caucus include:

  • Tom McGarrigle, 26th Senatorial District (parts of Chester and Delaware counties) — Senator-elect McGarrigle is a small business owner who served as Chairman of Delaware County Council. He played an integral role in projects providing jobs for Delaware County residents, working with state and federal officials to save refinery jobs in the region, and helping make the Philadelphia Union soccer stadium a reality.
  • Pat Stefano, 32nd Senatorial District (Fayette and Somerset counties, and parts of Westmoreland County) — Senator-elect Stefano is a third-generation owner and operator of a family printing company. Active in the business community, he served as Vice President of the Fayette County Chamber of Commerce and is a founding member of the county’s “Buy Local” Steering Committee.
  • Ryan Aument, 36th Senatorial District (Lancaster County) – Senator-elect Aument has served in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives since being elected in 2010, and previously served as a captain in the U.S. Army during Operation Iraqi Freedom. A fiscal conservative, he has also led school reform efforts, working to pass new, stricter teacher evaluations.
  • Mario Scavello, 40th Senatorial District (parts of Monroe and Northampton counties) — Senator-elect Scavello was previously elected to six terms in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, where he most recently chaired the House Labor and Industry Committee. In addition to being a champion for school funding reform, the Senator-elect’s legislative accomplishments include the enactment of his legislation ensuring that patients with prosthetics and orthotic services are receiving care from properly trained practitioners.
  • Camera Bartolotta, 46th Senatorial District (Washington and Greene counties, and parts of Beaver County) — Senator-elect Bartolotta is a small business operator, running the family’s Mon Valley oil-change business. She is actively involved with the American Cancer Society, the American Heart Association of Washington County, the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and Gilda’s Club of Western PA.
  • Michele Brooks, 50th Senatorial District (Crawford and Mercer counties, and parts of Erie and Warren counties) — Prior to being elected to the state House in 2006, Senator-elect Brooks served as vice chairman of the Mercer County Board of Commissioners. As a House member, her priorities have been reducing crushing taxes on job creators, improving state services for senior citizens, re-prioritizing state government spending and limiting borrowing by the Commonwealth.

Three Senate Republicans will retire at the end of the year. They are Senator Bob Robbins (R-50), Senator Ted Erickson (R-26), and Senator Mike Brubaker (R-36).


Drew Crompton – Senator Scarnati (717) 787-7084

Mark Meyer – Senator Corman (717) 787-1377