Senate Republicans Welcome Members to Growing Majority

Harrisburg – Senate Republicans are welcoming five new members to the Senate majority, including three elected by voters to seats previously held by Democrats.

Following Tuesday’s elections, Senate Republicans will hold a veto-proof 34-16 majority in the legislative session beginning in January.

The new members are:

  • Senator-elect John DiSanto, 15th District (Dauphin and Perry counties)
  • Senator-elect Wayne Langerholc, 35th District (Bedford, Cambia, and part of Clearfield counties)
  • Senator-elect Daniel Laughlin, 49th District (Erie County).
  • Senator-elect Scott Martin, 13th District (Lancaster County)
  • Senator-elect Mike Regan, 31st District (Cumberland and York counties)

“Each new member brings a unique array of knowledge and experience to the Senate, and I am looking forward to working with newly elected Senate Republicans to advance our agenda of limited government and taxpayer protection,” said Senate President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati (R-25).

“Voters across Pennsylvania elected the largest GOP Senate majority in seven decades, sending the clear message that they want us to put taxpayers first and control government spending. Our new members will be key players in heeding that call,” said Senate Majority Leader Jake Corman (R-34.)

The swearing-in ceremony for new and re-elected members of the Senate will take place January 3, 2017.


Kate Eckhart (Sen. Scarnati) (717) 787-7084
Jenn Kocher (Sen. Corman) (717) 787-1377